South Africa drawn with Morocco and Ivory Coast at AFCON 2019

South Africa will face Morocco, Ivory Coast and Namibia in the group stages of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

The draw took place in Cairo, Egypt, with the Pyramids and the Sphinx serving as a backdrop.

Teams were separated into four seeding pots based on the Fifa world rankings, before being drawn into six groups of four on Friday night.

Fourteenth-ranked Bafana Bafana were drawn into Group D alongside Morocco, the fourth-highest ranked international side in Africa, the Ivory Coast, who are ranked 11th, and their nearest neighbours, 28th-ranked Namibia.

While Morocco are sure to present a stern challenge, and Ivory Coast and their star striker Wilfried Zaha are not to be underestimated, Stuart Baxter and his charges will feel they have a chance of challenging for a place in the quarter-finals, with the top two teams from each group and the four best third-placed teams set to advance.

Meanwhile, hosts Egypt were drawn alongside DR Congo, Uganda and Zimbabwe, while defending champions Cameroon will go up against Ghana, Benin and Guinea-Bissau.

The Africa Cup of Nations will take place from 21 June to 19 July, ensuring that Europe's African stars will be able to take part without missing any games for their clubs.

Liverpool pair Mohamed Salah (Egypt) and Sadio Mane (Senegal), Manchester City's Riyad Mahrez (Algeria) and Crystal Palace forward Zaha (Ivory Coast) are just some of big names set to feature.

Cameroon are the defending champions after beating Egypt in the 2017 final.

The tournament feature 24 teams this time around, an increase from the 16 that took part in the event in Gabon 2017.

Burundi, Madagascar and Mauritania are all making their debut in the competition this year.

2019 Africa Cup of Nations Groups

Group A - Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe

Group B - Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi

Group C - Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D - Morocco, Côte d'Ivoire, South Africa, Namibia

Group E - Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola

Group F - Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea-Bissau